Description This O&W Railway station, along the MOnticello adn Port Jervis Line in Forestburgh, NY, was originally Gilman's Station, later renamed St. Joseph's Station.The trains no longer run today and the station sits quietly nestled amid the woodlands of Sullivan County, in the town of Forestburgh.The main industries of this area in its early years were tanning, quarrying and lumbering.The opening of the Monticello and Port Jervis Railroad in the 1870's stimulated the lumbering, tanning, and quarrying industries. The railroad entered Forestburgh at the Town's northern border and extended through it in a southernly direction along the Bushkill Creek Valley. In addition to assisting the Town's industrial base, the railroad also brought summer residents from New York City. The population of the Town in 1870 was 916, greater than the present day.Photographed in Forestburgh NY USA. Composed in Photoshop with filters, layers, original textures, and textures by Design Cuts and Lena-Bem Anna of Flickr.
Pamela Phelps, Greenfield Park Member Since March 2013 Artist Statement Welcome to Pine Singer Images
Pamela is a "Keeper of Days Gone By". Through her photographic artworks she lends style and ambiance of historical landmarks and notable places in and around the Sullivan, Ulster, and Orange county areas of New York, USA.
Her work brings back the origin of emotional experience once connected to the remains of history so highly regarded in this area of New York. Pamela brings back that feeling of "stepping back in time" through artistic creations of her photography.
Please feel free to journey along through time with Pamela. Leave a comment, send a "like" to "Facebook": https://www.facebook.com/PineSinger or contact her with any questions or special orders.
For a full portfolio visit: "PineSingerImages" http://www.zenfolio.com/pinesingerimages
**All images are copyright Pine Singer Images, and may not be used, duplicated, or altered without written permission. Images on this site are NOT of public domain.