Description The plaque on this schoolhouse reads Palentown Common school #10, 1830.Although a schoolhouse may have existed on the site of the existing building at 186 Palentown Road as far back as the 1830's, according to the Town of Rochester, a deed dated 1851 refers to the property as Philip's Meadow and leases it to the common school district #10, according to the site. The present building was constructed by Horace Dymond in the mid 1860's on land donated by the family. In September 1988, the schoolhouse was designated a state and national historic landmark.Photographed in Palentown, New York, composed in Photoshop.
Pamela Phelps, Greenfield Park Member Since March 2013 Artist Statement Welcome to Pine Singer Images
Pamela is a "Keeper of Days Gone By". Through her photographic artworks she lends style and ambiance of historical landmarks and notable places in and around the Sullivan, Ulster, and Orange county areas of New York, USA.
Her work brings back the origin of emotional experience once connected to the remains of history so highly regarded in this area of New York. Pamela brings back that feeling of "stepping back in time" through artistic creations of her photography.
Please feel free to journey along through time with Pamela. Leave a comment, send a "like" to "Facebook": https://www.facebook.com/PineSinger or contact her with any questions or special orders.
For a full portfolio visit: "PineSingerImages" http://www.zenfolio.com/pinesingerimages
**All images are copyright Pine Singer Images, and may not be used, duplicated, or altered without written permission. Images on this site are NOT of public domain.